What To Expect
As announced before regarding the migration of your classic Google Sites there is now a new announcement. Instead of the deadline being December 1st, 2022 it is now being extended until January 30th, 2023 to give Google Workspace customers more time to migrate from classic Google Sites to new Google Sites.
Starting January 30th, 2023 the ability to edit any remaining classic Sites in your domain will be turned off. Your classic Sites will remain viewable until the automatic conversion.
After January 30th, 2023 the automatic conversion will begin and all remaining classic Sites will be converted to new Sites drafts for site owners to review and publish, and export static archives to Google Takeout. Your classic Sites will be deleted after they are converted to new Sites.
You will be notified once all the sites on your domain have been migrated. The migration may take multiple months depending on the number and complexity of your sites. You can check the status of your sites in the Classic Sites Manager.
- Available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as legacy G Suite Basic and Business customes.
- Admins and Google Workspace end-users: For more information and help with learning how to convert a classic Site to a new Site, you can visit the Google Workspace Help Center.